About us

Chairman Board filler wide


Chartered Accountants Ulster Society is a district society of Chartered Accountants Ireland, Ireland’s oldest and largest professional body of accountants. Founded in 1906, the Ulster Society has over 4,500 members throughout Northern Ireland.

The committee of the Ulster Society provides professional, educational and social services and events for its members (in practice, in business, in the public sector and charity/voluntary sectors) and is a strong voice for Northern Ireland’s business sector. The society also actively fosters relationships with other accountancy, professional organisations and government bodies.

The Ulster Society publishes its Annual Report in advance of its Annual General Meeting in April each year.

Ulster Society Committee

Maeve Hunt
Position Person
Chairman Richard Gillan
Vice Chairman Maeve Hunt
Honorary Secretary Paul Millar
Honorary Treasurer Emma Murray
Past Chairman Niall Harkin
Committee member Michael Barnett
Catherine Martin
David McCurley
  Tiarnan O'Neill
  Alan Wilson
Colette Kane
Mark Lawther
William McCulla
John Poole
Sarah Cull
  Gillian Sadlier
  Chris Fleming
 NI Tax Committee rep. Alan Gourley
Student representative Ciara Flanagan

Sub-committees which report to the Ulster Society main committee include:

  • Chartered Accountants in Business sub-committee
  • Chartered Accountants Public Sector Group
  • Conference sub-committee
  • Members Services sub-committee 
  • Training, Education & Careers sub-committee
  • Young Professionals group
  • Communications sub-committee

Have a query?

If you have a query, please refer to our Support & Services page and contact the relevant department with your query.

Was this article helpful?