Public Policy Bulletin, 20 May 2019

May 16, 2019

This week we take a look at the candidates that are putting themselves forward for the 2019 elections in the North and South of Ireland.  We also look at voter turnout for the past elections and the results of the last elections which took place in 2014.

Candidates in Northern Ireland

11 candidates in total  

  • Jim Allister (Traditional Unionist Voice)
  • Martina Anderson (Sinn Féin);
  • Clare Bailey (Green Party Northern Ireland)
  • Amandeep Singh Bhogal (Conservative)
  • Diane Dodds (DUP)
  • Colum Eastwood (SDLP)
  • Robert Hill (UKIP)
  • Danny Kennedy (UUP)
  • Naomi Long (Alliance)
  • Neil McCann (Independent)
  • Jane Morrice (Independent)


3 seats must be filled in Northern Ireland.

Outgoing MEPs

  • Martina Anderson (Sinn Féin)
  • Dianne Dodds (DUP)
  • Jim Nicholson (UUP)

2014 results

Martina Anderson (SF) topped the poll in the 2014 elections with over 25 percent of the vote and was the only candidate elected on the first count.  Diane Dodds finished second in 2014 with almost 21 percent of the votes.  Both are up for re-election.

Turnout patterns

Turnout in Northern Ireland to vote in the European Parliament elections has been around the 50 percent mark typically with 52 percent in 2014 (635,927 voters), 43 percent in 2009 and 52 percent in 2004.

Republic of Ireland

Dublin Constituency

19 candidates in total: 

  • Barry Andrews (Fianna Fáil) 
  • Lynn Boylan (Sinn Féin) 
  • Gillian Brien (People Before Profit)
  • Ciarán Cuffe (Green Party)
  • Clare Daly (Independents4Change)
  • Mark Durkan (Fine Gael)
  • Frances Fitzgerald (Fine Gael)
  • Gary Gannon (Social Democrats)
  • Ben Gilroy (Independent)
  • Rita Harrold (Solidarity)
  • Alice-Mary Higgins (Independent)
  • Hermann Kelly (Independent)
  • Tony Bosco Lowth (Independent)
  • Aisling McNiffe (Independent)
  • Mark Mullan (Independent)
  • Eamonn Murphy (Independent)
  • Gemma O'Doherty (Independent)
  • Éilis Ryan (The Workers' Party)
  • Alex White (Labour)

2019 sees a record number of candidates vying for seats in the Dublin Constituency. There were 12 candidates in 2014 and 10 in 2009.


3 seats will be filled immediately and the fourth elected MEP will not take their seat until the UK leaves the EU.

Outgoing MEPs

  • Lynn Boylan (Sinn Féin)
  • Nessa Childers (Independent)
  • Brian Hayes (Fine Gael)

Both Nessa Childers and Brian Hayes are retiring. 

Turnout patterns and results

Turnout has fallen in recent years in the Dublin Constituency with just under 53 percent of voters turning out in 2004, almost 51 percent in 2009 and just under 44 percent in 2014.    

Lynn Boylan topped the polls in 2014 with just under 24 percent of the votes, followed by Nessa Childers on 10 percent.

South Constituency

There are 23 candidates in total:

  • Allan Brennan (Independent)
  • Malcolm Byrne (Fianna Fáil)
  • Dolores Cahill (Independent)
  • Deirdre Clune (Fine Gael)
  • Andrew Doyle (Fine Gael)
  • Paddy Fitzgerald (Independent)
  • Breda Patricia Gardner (Independent)
  • Theresa Heaney (Independent)
  • Billy Kelleher (Fianna Fáil)
  • Seán Kelly(Fine Gael)
  • Peter Madden (Independent)
  • Liam Minehan (Independent)
  • Liadh Ní Riada (Sinn Féin)
  • Sheila Nunan (Labour Party)
  • Diarmuid O'Flynn (Independent)
  • Peter O'Loughlin (Identity Ireland)
  • Grace O'Sullivan (Green Party)
  • Walter Ryan-Purcell (Independent)
  • Maurice Joseph Sexton (Independent)
  • Jan Van De Ven (Direct Democracy Ireland)
  • Adrienne Wallace (Solidarity-People Before Profit)
  • Mick Wallace (Independents 4 Change)
  • Colleen Worthington (Independent)


4 seats will be filled immediately and the fifth elected candidate will only take their seat when the UK leaves the EU.

Outgoing MEPs

  • Deirdre Clune (Fine Gael)
  • Brian Crowley (Fianna Fáil)
  • Sean Kelly (Fine Gael)
  • Liadh Ní Riada (Sinn Féin)

Three of the four sitting MEPs have put their names forward again with the exception of Brian Crowley.

Turnout patterns and results

Turnout in 2014 was 55.6 percent, just over 59 percent in 2009 and 62 percent in 2004.   Outgoing MEP Brian Crowley topped the polls in 2014 with Liadh ni Riada finishing second.

Midlands North West Constituency

17 candidates in total:

  • Cyril Brennan (People Before Profit)
  • Matt Carthy (Sinn Féin)
  • Peter Casey (Independent)
  • Luke 'Ming' Flanagan (Independent)
  • Patrick Greene (Direct Democracy Ireland)
  • Dominic Hannigan (Labour)
  • Fidelma Healy Eames (Independent)
  • Dilip Mahapatra (Independent)
  • Mairead McGuinness (Fine Gael)
  • Saoirse McHugh (Green Party)
  • James Miller (Independent)
  • Diarmaid Mulcahy (Independent)
  • Olive O'Connor (Independent)
  • Michael O'Dowd (Renua Ireland)
  • Anne Rabbitte (Fianna Fáil)
  • Brendan Smith (Fianna Fáil)
  • Maria Walsh (Fine Gael)


There are four seats to be filled in this constituency.

Outgoing MEPs

  • Matt Carthy (Sinn Féin)
  • Luke 'Ming' Flanagan (Independent)
  • Marian Harkin (Independent)
  • Mairead McGuinness (Fine Gael)

Marian Harkin is the only one of the outgoing MEPs not up for re-election, having served since 2004.

Turnout patterns and results

Turnout has fallen over the past few years in this constituency from 63 percent in both 2004 and 2009 to 55 percent in 2014.

Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan topped the polls in 2014 with over 19 percent of the votes, followed by Mairead McGuinness with 14.2 percent.

Voting takes place on Thursday 23 May in Northern Ireland and Friday 24 May in the Republic of Ireland.  Voting takes place across the EU from the 23 – 26 May.